Publisher dashboard now available for all users

United States presidential election History

Before we go through big writings, there are simple questions like why US citizen cant vote directly? what are minimum qualification of becoming a president? or can I be the president of USA?

US election goes way back to 1800 BC. and it was really difficult to run a national outreach for votes given the size and climate conditions.

The framers of constitution decided to go for vote representation , rather than vote from whole population, as majorly vote would mean big cities will have a dominance in vote power thus getting more favors,

US current has 538 electors which represnt all states and half plus one vote is required from these electors to win the US presidential election.

electors are not senators

Summary of the U.S. Presidential Election Process | U.S. Embassy ...
us election for president

Who can be the president

A president must be at least 35 years old, a “natural born US citizen” and a US resident for at least 14 years.

I have all qualification, can i be in race of president ?

yes you can, but make sure to get the vote of electors as popular vote will not get you in office 😉

US Presidents till date

1789-1797George WashingtonMartha WashingtonJohn Adams
1797-1801John AdamsAbigail AdamsThomas Jefferson
1801-1805Thomas Jefferson[Martha Wayles Skelton Jefferson
died before Jefferson assumed office;
no image of her in P&P collections]
Aaron Burr
1805-1809Thomas Jeffersonsee aboveGeorge Clinton
1809-1812James MadisonDolley MadisonGeorge Clinton
1812-1813James MadisonDolley Madisonoffice vacant
1813-1814James MadisonDolley MadisonElbridge Gerry
1814-1817James MadisonDolley Madisonoffice vacant
1817-1825James MonroeElizabeth Kortright Monroe
(no image)
Daniel D. Tompkins
1825-1829John Quincy AdamsLouisa Catherine AdamsJohn C. Calhoun
1829-1832Andrew JacksonRachel Jackson [Rachel Donelson Jackson died before Jackson assumed office and did not serve as first lady]John C. Calhoun
1833-1837Andrew JacksonRachel Jackson [Rachel Donelson Jackson died before Jackson assumed office and did not serve as first lady]Martin Van Buren
1837-1841Martin Van BurenHannah Hoes Van BurenRichard M. Johnson
1841William Henry HarrisonAnna Tuthill Symmes HarrisonJohn Tyler
1841-1845John TylerLetitia Christian Tyler and
Julia Gardiner Tyler (no images)
office vacant
1845-1849James K. PolkSarah Childress PolkGeorge M. Dallas
1849-1850Zachary TaylorMargaret Mackall Smith Taylor
(no image)
Millard Fillmore
1850-1853Millard FillmoreAbigail Powers Fillmoreoffice vacant
1853Franklin PierceJane M. PierceWilliam R. King
1853-1857Franklin PierceJane M. Pierceoffice vacant
1857-1861James Buchanan(never married)John C. Breckinridge
1861-1865Abraham LincolnMary Todd LincolnHannibal Hamlin
1865Abraham LincolnMary Todd LincolnAndrew Johnson
1865-1869Andrew JohnsonEliza McCardle Johnsonoffice vacant
1869-1873Ulysses S. GrantJulia Dent GrantSchuyler Colfax
1873-1875Ulysses S. GrantJulia Dent GrantHenry Wilson
1875-1877Ulysses S. GrantJulia Dent Grantoffice vacant
1877-1881Rutherford Birchard HayesLucy Webb HayesWilliam A. Wheeler
1881James A. GarfieldLucretia Rudolph GarfieldChester A. Arthur
1881-1885Chester A. ArthurEllen Lewis Herndon Arthuroffice vacant
1885Grover ClevelandFrances Folsom ClevelandThomas A. Hendricks
1885-1889Grover ClevelandFrances Folsom Clevelandoffice vacant
1889-1893Benjamin HarrisonCaroline Lavinia Scott Harrison
Mary Lord Harrison
[Harrison’s second wife,
but never a first lady]
Levi P. Morton
1893-1897Grover ClevelandFrances Folsom ClevelandAdlai E. Stevenson
1897-1899William McKinleyIda Saxton McKinleyGarret A. Hobart
1899-1901William McKinleyIda Saxton McKinleyoffice vacant
1901William McKinleyIda Saxton McKinleyTheodore Roosevelt
1901-1905Theodore RooseveltEdith Kermit Carow Rooseveltoffice vacant
1905-1909Theodore RooseveltEdith Kermit Carow RooseveltCharles W. Fairbanks
1909-1912William H. TaftHelen Herron TaftJames S. Sherman
1912-1913William H. TaftHelen Herron Taftoffice vacant
1913-1921Woodrow WilsonEllen Axson Wilson and
Edith Bolling Galt Wilson
Thomas R. Marshall
1921-1923Warren G. HardingFlorence Kling HardingCalvin Coolidge
1923-1925Calvin CoolidgeGrace Goodhue Coolidgeoffice vacant
1925-1929Calvin CoolidgeGrace Goodhue CoolidgeCharles G. Dawes
1929-1933Herbert HooverLou Henry HooverCharles Curtis
1933-1941Franklin D. RooseveltEleanor RooseveltJohn N. Garner
1941-1945Franklin D. RooseveltEleanor RooseveltHenry A. Wallace
1945Franklin D. RooseveltEleanor RooseveltHarry S. Truman
1945-1949Harry S. TrumanBess Wallace Trumanoffice vacant
1949-1953Harry S. TrumanBess Wallace TrumanBarkley, Alben W.
1953-1961Dwight D. EisenhowerMamie Doud EisenhowerRichard M. Nixon
1961-1963John F. KennedyJacqueline Kennedy OnassisLyndon B. Johnson
1963-1965Lyndon B. JohnsonLady Bird Johnsonoffice vacant
1965-1969Lyndon B. JohnsonLady Bird JohnsonHubert H. Humphrey
1969-1973Richard M. NixonPat NixonSpiro T. Agnew
1973-1974Richard M. NixonPat NixonGerald R. Ford
1974-1977Gerald R. FordBetty FordNelson Rockefeller
1977-1981Jimmy CarterRosalynn CarterWalter F. Mondale
1981-1989Ronald ReaganNancy ReaganGeorge Bush
1989-1993George BushBarbara BushDan Quayle
1993-2001Bill ClintonHillary Rodham ClintonAlbert Gore
2001-2009George W. BushLaura BushRichard Cheney
2009-2017Barack ObamaMichelle ObamaJoseph R. Biden
2017-Donald J. TrumpMelania TrumpMike Pence
Source:Prints and Photographs Division, Library of Congress, Washington, D.C., 20540-4730

About the Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may also like these